

Gambling Related Harm APPG AGM Minutes

Date: Thursday 25th February 2021 Time: 2:00pm Location: Virtual Chair: Carolyn Harris MP Minutes taken by: Chloe Sercombe, Interel UK

Members Present

- Carolyn Harris MP
- The Rt Hon. Sir Ian Duncan Smith MP
- Ronnie Cowan MP
- Margaret Ferrier MP
- The Rt Hon. the Lord Foster of Bath
- Gerald Jones MP
- Sir Mark Hendrick MP

External Guests

- Katherine Morgan Interel Consulting UK
- James Olney Interel Consulting UK
- Chloe Sercombe Interel Consulting UK
- Jo Lloyd Office of Carolyn Harris MP
- Iain Fraser Office of Ronnie Cowan MP

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting (Closed Session) - 2:00pm - 2:30pm

CAROLYN HARRIS MP welcomed everyone to the meeting. She said that following recent events, the Gambling Related Harm APPG would be discounting all evidence given by Nicole Elkabbas to the group, that the Group will not be associating itself with her in the future, and clarifying that the Group was unaware of the situation that she was engaged in.

In response to a question from **RONNIE COWAN MP**, **CAROLYN HARRIS MP** noted that she was now in possession of new information since the session indicating that the particular case was not as the Group was led to believe, and that the nature of her problems were not ones that the APPG were able to support he with or take as evidence.

SIR IAIN DUNCAN SMITH MP noted that the group listens to testimony from lots of people and that Ms Elkabbas was referred to the group by a number of sources. Since that time, the Group has discovered that her testimony is riddled with falsehoods and has taken the decision to discount the evidence. The Group listens to many different witnesses and takes people at face value.

SIR MARK HENDRICK MP noted that he had recently had a meeting with gambling harm representatives in the North, such as Terry Gill from Gamblers Anonymous. He said that he would share the information to **CAROLYN HARRIS MP.**

The Group then moved to elect Officers for the coming year.

CAROLYN HARRIS MP asked if there were any nominations for Chair of the APPG.

SIR MARK HENDRICK MP nominated **CAROLYN HARRIS MP** to as Chair of the APPG. **GERALD JONES MP** seconded the nomination.

CAROLYN HARRIS MP was elected as Chair unanimously.



CAROLYN HARRIS MP noted that there was a request in absentia for MARK MENZIES MP to be nominated as Vice Chair, and also nominated SIR IAIN DUNCAN SMITH MP and RONNIE COWAN MP to be Vice Chairs.

SIR MARK HENDRICK MP seconded the nominations and asked for a nomination as Vice Chair for himself, which CAROLYN HARRIS MP agreed.

MARK MENZIES MP, SIR IAN DUNCAN SMITH MP, RONNIE COWAN MP, and SIR MARK HENDRICK MP were elected as Vice Chairs unanimously.

CAROLYN HARRIS MP nominated LORD FOSTER as Vice Chair.

LORD FOSTER was elected as Vice Chair unanimously.

CAROLYN HARRIS MP nominated GERALD JONES MP to be Secretary.

GERALD JONES MP was elected as Secretary unanimously.

MARGARET FERRIER MP declined to be Treasurer, so **CAROLYN HARRIS MP** nominated **JUDITH CUMMINS MP** as Treasurer in absentia.

JUDITH CUMMINS MP was elected as Treasurer unanimously.

CAROLYN HARRIS MP moved a motion to improve the 2020 – 2021 Income and Expenditure statement.

The 2020-2021 Income and Expenditure statement was approved unanimously.

CAROLYN HARRIS MP also nominated SAMMY WILSON MP, STEPHEN TIMMS MP, and RICHARD HOLDEN MP as Vice Chairs in absentia.

SAMMY WILSON MP, STEPHEN TIMMS MP and RICHARD HOLDEN MP were elected as Vice Chairs unanimously.

The Group then discussed the arrangements for the Secretariat. **GERALD JONES MP** moved a motion for Interel to continue to serve as the APPG Secretariat, seconded by **SIR IAIN DUNCAN SMITH MP**.

The Group passed a motion to re-adopt Interel as the APPG Secretariat for the coming year unanimously.

CAROLYN HARRIS MP closed the AGM at 2:30pm.